Running Toward Others

I’ve had the pleasure of working at a call center for almost a year. Most of the people who sit in my circle do not look like me. They are younger and their skin is much darker than mine. I’ve learned a lot about them. I’ve learned that they laugh when they make a mistake. They get frustrated with themselves if they make a mistake, and they expect to come in each day to do better and try harder.

They laugh. They sing, and they care about each other. They do not wallow in the past. One of the young black women in my circle said recently, “When I was younger, I wanted to go into acting.” She is funny, talented, and I could definitely see her in that role, so I asked her, “Why didn’t you try that out? I think you’d be good at it.” She said, “There was a white girl in my high school group who told me that they didn’t need a black girl in the Acting Club.”

May we never be that cruel to anyone – no matter what color their skin is.

Run toward others today – no matter their skin color.  It might just make you happy.

About formyrtle

Livin' large in East Texas
This entry was posted in Happy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

